AGE WAIVERS

How to Submit Proper Documentation

September 5 & 6, 2018
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Today we are going to talk about the youngé&D® tediakers and the documentation
needed to allow them to test.

Currently half the requests received have errors. Today we will learn how to avoid the
most common errors.

Age waivers are required for 18 year olds because ta we have for the GED®

testing program is the same as the godlXeducators and administrators havwee

want all students to have the opportunity to earn a traditional high school diploma. It
is only when all options to earn that traditional high school diploma have been
exhausted that we want to offer the second chance to high school completion, which is
the GEDtest.




+ KRS 159.010
Compulsory School Attendance

+ 13KAR 3:050
. GED® Eligibility Regulation

» Title Il of the
W orkforce Innovation
and Opportunity Act

There are laws involveda state law, a Kentucky regulation, and a federal law.
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The GEBeligibility regulation has been updated to reflect the current age for
compulsory school attendance, age 18, and includes the requirements for taking the
GED@est in Kentucky.

Skills U programs have eligibility guidelines for their services that are spelled out by
WIOA.




KRS 159.010
Compulsory School Attendance

A child must be a graduate from an
accredited or an approved four
year high school or remain enrolled
until age 18.

Home schooled children are not

exempt

Married youth are not exempt

State agency children are not exempt

Expelled children are not exempt.
Children moving from another state are not exempt.
You can find a list of the Kentucky Board of Education certifiedoudtic schools in
Kentucky at the KDE website at
https://education.ky.gov/federal/fed/Pages/NoRublicSchools.aspx

Currently, no online schools appear on that list.




Questions about
Compulsory

School
Attendance:

Christina Weeter, Director

Division of Student Success
Kentucky Department of Education
Christina.Weeter(@education.ky.gov
(502) 564-4772 x 4067

or

Whitney Crowe, Policy Advisor

Whitney.crowe(@education.ky.qov

People sometimes find themselves in complicated circumstancesgjuestions about
compulsory school attendance in Kentucky, here is contact information.




13KAR 3:050
GED® Eligibility Regulation
TS

Kentucky address
Age 19
Age 18 and withdrawn for 90 days
Superintendent or designee can waive the 90
day wait period
Age 18 and in an adult correctional facility
Age 18 and is enrolled in job corps, or
ChalleNGe program
Age 17 and a state agency child approved by local
school superintendent (must remain enrolled in school
until age 18)

Kentucky also has a test readiness requirememiust pass official practice test with
the same scores required to pass the GED telstwever, today we are dealing with age
Issues.

Today we are going to address age issues and touch on residency and ID requirements.

Thoseincarcerated at 18 must submit documentation of incarceratidrooking
document or information from online inmate list.
Job corps an€halleNGgrograms submit proof of enrollment in program.




Title Il of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act

Adult Education Eligibility

Are not enrolled or required to be
enrolled in secondary school under State
law

Shall live, work, be incarcerated, and/or
enrolled in postsecondary education in
Kentucky, and will have reached the legal
age of withdrawal from the local school
district where they currently reside

No F1 Visarhose individuals can test but not receive instruction at addprograms.




GED® vs Skills U Eligibility
|

Adult Ed Eligibility

Must provide proof of Live, work or go to
KY residency to test school in KY
Age 18 and Legal age of

withdrawn for 90 days withdrawal (18)

or have
superintendent’s sig. Cannot serve those

State agency child required to be
age 17 enrolled in school

Here are some differencézetween adulted eligibility and GED eligibility that can
cause issues.

Residency:Must have KY ID or, if an eat-state ID is presented, must show proof of
KY residency to test. To be served at additenter, a person can live, work, or go to
school in KY.

Age: Unless someone is a graduate of an accreditgedr high school, aduéd
cannot serve until age 18.

Stateagency children can test at age 17, but are not eligibility for astitervices
because they are required to be enrolled in school.




Documentation of Withdrawal

Documentation of withdrawal
form

School forms if they contain the
required information and
signatures

[ SGQa GFft]l lFo2dzi G§KS R2aydavabef (Notétha2we aleXS Ij dzA N
talking primarily about what is needed for those age 18 to test.

We need certification from the local school district where the person currently lives
that the student has exited school.

The documentation of withdrawal form can be foundyGE® under the age alert.
It is also available on the KYSU website and as a handout from this presentation.

This, or corresponding school forms, are needed for all 18glelarexcept for those
incarceratecat age 18 or in a job corps.




When should

request be
submitted?

Must have an account at MyGED®

Must be granted before you can schedule the GED® test
Can enroll in adult education classes before age waiver is
granted
Can take GED Ready® test before the age waiver is
granted

This is one of the top three reasons the age waiver cannot be granted.
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DOCUMENTATION OF WITHDRAWAL FROM SCHOOL
GED® Testing
Kentucky Adult Education
Submit this d through any of the following methods:
1. Email a scanned copy to: GED@KY.gov

2.Mail to: Kentucky GED Testing, 1024 Capital Center Dr., Ste 250, Frankfort, KY 40601
3.FAX to: 502-696-5863

To take the GED® test in Kentucky (13K

:050),-youmust he at least 18 years-eld-and have been withdrawn from
public or private school at least ninety days as certified by the local district or meet other requirements. The only

exception is for state agency children who may test at age 17, but must remain enrolled in school.

Section 1: Applicant

Name (Last, First, Middle Initial or Maiden Name)

Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year) Age at application Social Security Number

00/00/0000 0040-00-04aaad

Current Address (Street/Number/Apartment)

City State Zip Code

Phone Email Address

000/000-0000
Name of “W YOU currently live:

If you withdrew from school, please have the school district where you currently live complete Section 2.

If you were Homeschooled, please have your homeschool parent and the local school district complete Section 3.
If you request a waiver of the 90-day wait period, please have the superintendent or designee complete Section 4.
If you are a state agency child or in a juvenile detention center or school, please have the superintendent or

din an adult i

How to submit form.
If you want to emailleave out the SSN.

Directions for what to complete under each of the following circumstances:

A Exited school
A Withdrew to homeschool

A Withdrew fewer than 90 days ago and want a waiver for the wait period
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Need the date the student exited school without the requirement to enroll in another

school.

Infinite campus provides accessitdo. if student has not been enrolled in the school

district where they currently live.

One of the top three reasons waiver cannot be granted is that the withdrawal date is
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withdrew to homeschool or if the student withdrew to move to another school
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